Do Not Miss
From the very beginning of the first Earth Summit in 1992, people realized that sustainable development could not be achieved by governments alone. It would require the active participation of all sectors of society and all types of people - consumers, workers, business persons, farmers, students, teachers, researchers, activists, indigenous communities, and other communities of interest.

Agenda 21 formalized nine of these as the overarching categories through which all citizens could participate in the UN activities on achieving sustainable development. These are officially called "Major Groups".

Host Country Liasion
A special committee of the main Brazilian civil society networks was created in late 2010 to help organize Brazilian civil society and engage with national and international partners. Read more
Latest News
Upcoming Meetings/Events
Copyright (c) United Nations 2011 |Site Map | New